Weekly progress

A week passed since the last post. However, I feel it’s such a long week that I can’t even remember the feelings or something when I wrote the last post. Possibly because I’m too tired these days since I’ve not slept well for a month. I doubt whether I could live like anymore.

Good news is my GSoC project is one of the 11 Debian’s GSoC projects that MAY have been get funded. I say MAY because the official results will come out at April, 20th and as said by Arthur, “anything can change”. I hope that’s just one of Arthur’s joke.

Last week my boss assigned me a task that I’ll write a blif parser by this week and on Tuesday there is a seminar at which it’s my turn to give a presentation. As usual, the subject of the seminar could be based on papers published recently on top micro-electronics conferences or journals, or something interesting which will “benefit us directly” or “broaden our view’s about the world”. I thought it’s a great idea to present something about “free software and open-source movement”, however, the darn parser I mentioned above cost me lots of time and it’s Monday morning when I realize that I haven’t prepared a single slide! So I spent the afternoon searching free software stuff, hoping there’re some available PPTs or lectures fit my scope. However, I found nothing and embarrassingly,  I found that I can’t understand some philosophies stated on gnu’s website. For example, the one Why Software Should Not Have Owners, which I read for half an hour and still confused. So I can’t give a presentation on sth that I’m not convinsed and I had to resort to my “secret weapon”–SEU(single event upset) which I had some research months ago and I ended in giving a boring presentation next day. I badly hope that I can UNDERSTAND these “selected essays” wrote by Rechard Stallman the next time I’m on duty.

Lots of crap above. Now summarize things done this week:

1. Successfully build a minimal LFS based on the very detailed lfs-book. I gained some insignt into linux though many procedures are not fully appreciated, especially the part with “bootstrapping”(gcc and glibc), sometimes using these libs sometimes with others etc. And one of the very important lessons I learned is never ever adjust time when compiling, especially adjusting time back. This will cause the make command  to stuck in a deadlock since some files’ time stamp is in the future. I learned that when i realize my new linux system is one day ahead of time and adjust it back when I compile the Glibc to build the basic system. And long time passed when I realized the make were doing things repeatedly.

2. Studying mips by watching see mips run linux. Thanks to Rayson, I download this book on internet. The mips ISA is quit different from IA-32 , which I understood easily after learning the book Computer Systems: A Programmer’s Perspective, that it’s a little hard for me to read this book. Maybe I should read some chapters from the books witten by Hennessy and Patterson first(like Computer Architecture : A Quantitative Aproach and Computer Organization and Design ).

3.Some tiny things like, learning vim, shell script etc. vim is much better than I thought since I always use emacs. I think vim is more convenient and smart than emacs in editing shell script or config files(administrator side) while  emacs is more powerful in developing large software(programmer side). I like both of them( I hope i’ll not confused the key bindings)

Things to do next week:

1.Populate the minimal lfs system with X , network capacities and other applications. This job can be guided by the BLFS manual.

2.Start building a CLFS(need to clear more space in my laptop hard drive first)

3.Reading mips book. Understand the register use conventions, mips assemble language

4.Talk to foka or r0bertz and ask their opinion on what to do next.

Well, r0bertz start submitting patches to kernel with regards to Loongson 2F these days and get Ftrace working on his computer. I’d better hurry up in case the gap between him and me is so large that I can’t reach him anymore.

Tags:

One Response to “Weekly progress”

  1. yajin Says:

    Hi sha, there is a book about free software and open source software in Chinese. Following is the link. Maybe you can borrow it from the library of your school. I bet this book is not borrowed out very often. 🙂
    http://www.china-pub.com/1175

    Believe me, you can learn more than technical knowledge from the world of free software. I think the most important thing I have learnt is sharing and cooperating, sharing the ideas with other hackers and cooperating with them to implement these exciting ideas. That’s what I can not get from the commerical software’s world, in which profit is the only thing to care.

    Welcome to the world of free software. You’re gonna love it.

Leave a Reply

